Q

Home » Top Secret » Boo Hiss to the El Royale Motel and Robert in Studio City

Boo Hiss to the El Royale Motel and Robert in Studio City

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

As everyone who reads me or everyone in real life knows.
I am homeless.
And while I take care of myself, bathe daily, treat people with respect and don’t steal.
My options for housing are non existent.
Businesses that have taken over the homeless shelters charge $5 a night AND have a 6 month waiting list to get in. Add to that their generally unclean and ghetto nature with drug addicts and alcoholics who leverage the cheap shelters for housing although they would have other options.. This leaves real homeless people like me on the streets.
Which sucks when it rains.
Seeking options – about 6 months ago I began asking local hotels which visually appear to be running at 50% or less occupancy if they’ll reduce the rate to $50 for one night if I pay cash.
Normally they’re charging in the neighborhood of $75 to $100 a night.
So I figured it’s a win/win.
I get to keep out of the rain and get a warm bed for the night.

And since these hotels are barely occupied when I ask…

The hotel gets a room rented and revenue.

I have a valid driver’s license and passport.
Now I ran into El Royale Hotel – where the main operator Robert has been polite and engaged in conversation numerous times, and has indicated to check back on three other occasions claiming no availability…..
So tonight…It’s raining. Expected to all night.
I check on the internet. El Royale is available at $138 a night and indicates there are plenty of rooms available.
“Rooms Available” is flashing out front of the hotel.
Yet oddly enough, El Royale Hotel and Robert are not willing to help the well kept homeless guy out by booking him a room at half rate.
Now to be clear:
The room would otherwise be unoccupied this evening.
So with that denial – I send out a big huge BOO HISS and boatload of bad karma to El Royale Hotel and Robert.
I appreciate the congeniality, Robert, you seem like a nice guy.
But sometimes.
It’s worse giving someone like me hope without any intention to deliver on it than it is to give nothing at all.
May you see no business come your way and a flurry of problems with your business this season.
Yes, the homeless man is cursing you and your business.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.