Q

Home » Top Secret » Lost In Interpretation

Lost In Interpretation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

When I first started visiting Mexico way back in 1988, Puerto Penasco was a literal translation to Rocky Point.

Later. sometime in the mid to late 1990s, I’d heard the translation – from the locals – was “Fish Port”. Puerto, meaning port, and penasco – meaning fish.

I’d always questioned how exceedingly bad I was at Spanish. Despite taking two years of it in high school and two years of it at the college level, I was constantly screwing up the translation.

Then. Sometime in the mid 2000s, it became what I’d partially known it to be.

Penasco now translates to rocky.

But the Spanish Translation to English still means “Rocky Port”

Now since and throughout all of this – I have found that language has a tendency of moving relative to a culture.

And the development of languages and distribution of a new word throughout that culture moves in collective ways that ensure the integrity of that collective culture.

And distribution of these linguistic changes I do NOT think happens automatically.

Take for instance – Hindi.

For years I’d dated Kena Patel – who spoke fluent Hindi and Gujarati. But for some reason, her culture did not have a word for computer.

Similarly, with Spanish – the word ‘Wall Clock’ and ‘Time’ is the same word – Reloj.

This – to me – has become a ‘tell’ if you will on the physical perception of a culture.

And – to boot – You have another tell – that of Einstein’s Relativity, I have found also applies to language.

Put specifically, for years I’d assumed that the object I see as an apple was one and the same physical model if you will of an apple that someone in China might see and that India might see.

A computer is a computer is a computer, right, and this device that I see and interact with is one and the same device my ex girlfriend might use or my friends are using.

I’m suspecting these logical fallacies couldn’t be further from the truth.

And the formation of a language, let alone the visual models I might use to represent that object – not only isn’t guarantee to look like one and the same thing, I’m making a monstrously poor decision in even assuming they have vision to begin with.

When I visited China, my cell phone kept turning itself on, and had downloaded nearly 5 gig of download on it’s own.

The Verizon representative didn’t want to believe it.

I’d accumulated a little more than $2000 in data charges, and this ‘smart phone’ for the life of me would not stop turning itself on.

On more than one occasion in China, I nearly got run over by drivers who had the right of way or – there’s more to it than meets the eye – and these drivers may not have been able to even see me to begin with.

After all of this. I often wonder.

Do some cultures collectively distribute and vote on imagery, sights, and sounds, and cross relate these to energy and present this imagery to the individual being to allow for a uniform collective experience?

In much the same way I play an avatar in a video game where the imagery and sounds of an MMORPG is preloaded and downloaded to my machine.

I’m suspecting either the Chinese do the same thing.

Or they’ve assumed we as Americans do.

And that’s why my phone was being updated.

They thought it was me.

And the experiences I see as fiction are indicative of the disjoint caused linguistically which causes deviations in the development of culture in such a dramatic way that time itself moves at a dramatically different rate for many of these beings.

I really do think reality is that profoundly odd.

As I am listening to Enrique Iglesias’s Escape CD, a CD which I have listened to at least 50 times before.

I’m hearing new lyrics for the Spanish songs he’s singing.

The same songs I’ve listened to in a literal sense as I said 50 times before.

Relativity. And while my translation to Spanish occurs dynamically, as evidenced by hearing new lyrics I’d not recognized before, my interpretation and understanding of some of these words does not.

 


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.