Q

Home » Top Secret » Holodeck Basic Commands Reference

Holodeck Basic Commands Reference

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Create “Object Name” will create an object and retain an active reference to the object.

For example: “Create TREE” will create a tree object and retain reference to that in memory.

Creating Named References

Create “Object Name” Named “Name to assign object” will create an object and assign a corresponding name to it which is handy for later referencing.

For example: “Create TREE named Frackatree”  will create a tree object, retain reference to that object in memory, and can later be referenced using the term Frackatree.

Setting References

Select THIS or THAT

Positional Referencing

Create “Object Name” HERE will create an object and assign its location to the referenced physical location. 

Create “Object Name” NEXT TO “Named Object” will create an object and place it next to the object name referred to.

For example, leveraging previous commands:

Create TREE NAMED Frackatree HERE (I place my palm about 4 feet above the ground in front of me)

Will create a tree named Frackatree with the top meeting the palm of my hand and the bottom attached to the ground.

Followed by:

Create TREE NAMED Brackatree NEXT TO Frackatree

Will create a tree named Brackatree and place it next to Frackatree and leverage the same scale information. A little assumptive and random behavior will be nice for precise location.

Other positional verbs:

BY, UNDERNEATH, OVER, ALONGSIDE

Positional Movement Verbs/Commands

These verbs are used for existing objects to move an object relative to another object.

CLOSER TO, FARTHER FROM

Scaling References

With Object(s) in Reference

REDUCE SIZE by amount will reduce the size by the amount specified, amount is in percentage or value.

For example: REDUCE SIZE by 50 PERCENT effectively scales the object size to half it’s original size, whereas REDUCE SIZE by HALF does the same thing.

INCREASE SIZE by amount will increase the size by the amount specified, amount is in percentage or value.

For example INCREASE SIZE by 2 times the original size will effectively scale the object in reference’s size by 2 times the original size. Similarly, INCREASE SIZE by 100% will do the same thing.

SCALE SIZE by amount will increase or decrease the size by the amount specified.

For example. SCALE SIZE by 50% will reduce the size of said object to half it’s original size.

REDUCE SIZE/INCREASE SIZE/SCALE TO “X” HERE/WIDTH/HEIGHT

Scales referenced object to pointed to height/width. Rejects command if used invalidly – for instance, saying “REDUCE SIZE” to x where x is pointed to a size higher than the original.

For example: SCALE TO HERE will scale referenced object to referenced location. It’s assumed hand gestures and references will reference valid location.

Rotational References

With Object(s) in Reference

ROTATE <DEGREE AMOUNT> on the X/Y/Z AXIS. This would rotate the referenced object on the respective axis the referenced amount of degrees.

NOTE: X and Y are relative to the floor and z is ALWAYS UP and DOWN (height), with the wall of the doorway (entrance/exit) of the holodeck ALWAYS defining the Y AXIS.

For example (with tree in reference)
“ROTATE 180 degrees on the Z AXIS” would spin an object around 180 degrees on the floor.

So THIS:

topdownhouseOn the floor from a top down view would become this:

rotated180

Gesture Location References

  1. IF a finger is pointed to a specific location, that means the referenced physical location meets 0,0,0 on the x, y, z axis of the model/object in reference.
  2. If an open palm is held over a specific location, for instance I might say “Create Tree HERE” as I hold my open palm over a specified location, then the TOP of the object being create will meet my palm and the bottom will meet the floor and the object will scale accordingly.

Building a scene example.

From a top down perspective, here’s the scene I’m going to create in a holodeck.

Let’s assume the holodeck is rectangular, and this scene fills the whole room.

topdownhouse2

Here’s the holodeck:

holotech-31

TO obtain Axes within the holodeck, we’d need to reference the door, like this:

withxyz

And to understand the 3 dimensionality of the scene I am building within the holodeck, here’s a house which I might use within the scene which helps me outline the 3d axes.

3dxyz

And here’s the commands in a Holodeck simulation I might use to create this scene:

orderofbuild

And here’s an outline of the steps and commands I’d take within that simulated environment:

  1. I’d walk to this location in the holodeck room, and place my palm face down about 4 feet from the floor and say

    CREATE THREE BEDROOM HOUSE HERE

  2. I’d walk to this location int he holodeck room and place my palm face down about 6 inches from the floor and say

    CREATE HEDGE ROW HERE

    … and add something like ‘run the length of wall to the house”

  3. I’d then walk to this location in the holodeck room and place my hand on the ground and say.

    CREATE GRASS FLOOR HERE.

    … and then I’d add something like ‘borders would be the hedge row, the house, the wall on the x axis and the front of the house on the other y’

    I’m cracking up because OpenGL does the same thing. I just considered inverting the X and Y axes to be more like a standard graph, with the x on the bottom and y on top, but I’m lazy and since I already did those graphics above with the axes, I don’t feel like redoing them.

  4. I’d walk to the other side, and probably build the road first in step 5 and bring the grass up to the edge of the road. So this step would be assuming I’d have step 5 done first. I’d point at the ground.

    CREATE GLASS FLOOR HERE

    … and then add ‘cover entire area on x axis and from the floor to the road on the y axis. ‘

  5. I’d walk to where I want the road to run and in this case, I’d actually use hand gestures to define start and finish points. With this, I’d walk to the x closet to the door and say:

    CREATE 15 FOOT WIDE DOUBLE LANE ROAD HERE

    .. and then I’d walk to the opposite wall and say

    END ROAD HERE

    For more complex roads, I’d walk a path and say “build the road following this path”

    The tricky part for this one is automatically scaling the road width accordingly based on 12 foot wide scaled down to this size. Since the house is 20% of it’s normal height, the 12 foot road would be 20% of it’s scaled width which would be a little more than 2 feet wide from this view.

  6. I’d walk to the middle of the road and say

    CREATE 65 CHEVROLET CORVETTE HERE

    This car would automatically be scaled to standard size.

  7. and 9. I’d walk to these locations and hold my palm at about 3 foot above the floor, and say:

    CREATE LEAFLESS TREE HERE

  8. I’d walk to this location and hold my palm about 5 feet off the ground and say:

    CREATE OAK TREE HERE.

This would create the BASE scene.

Which wouldn’t be animated, yet, and the animations would work much like they do in Powerpoint.

With this scene I might add things like a sun as a natural light source or light source.

Or a couple of nude women posing on chairs on the front lawn:

withnudewomen

To do this, I’d walk to the locations on the lawn and might point to the ground and say something like this:

CREATE CHAIR HERE

CREATE NUDE WOMAN ON CHAIR NAMED “LOLA” HERE

And I’d walk two steps and do almost the same thing pointing at a different location saying.

CREATE CHAIR HERE

CREATE NUDE WOMAN ON CHAIR NAMED “LILA” HERE

 


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.