Q

Home » Top Secret » Pompeii

Pompeii

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

I jolted up.

“What day is today?,” I asked.

“June 28th, 2288,” Kevin said.

“Everyone here?,” I asked

“Yep,” said Spencer.

“And we’re still repeating,” Pam said.

“Fuck,” I said.

“Did you try disengaging the ..”, I started to say before Jeff cut me off

“V-Drive, sure did. We also decoupled the twarp couplers, heck, Spencer actually memorized the damn user’s manual, and while it was fantastic with troubleshooting known problems, the annoying ‘contact an administrator’ kept popping up. Does the guide not know we ARE the administrators?”, Jeff said.

“Technically, yeah, ok hold on here it comes…,” I said.

I leaned back in agony on the gurney, and clenched the posts so hard it broke, I then clenched my head, the pain was becoming unbearable. But this time I had something new hit me, I sat up, and started coughing, I then rolled over, and fell off the gurney where I’d just broken the post.

My nose bled as I coughed up blood.

“Get him back on the gurney!,” Gina yelled.

I put my hand out. Deflecting my friends from approaching.

“No, no, no, it’s almost done, YEEEOOOOOWWWWW,” I screamed as I held my head in agony.

My head – my whole body felt like it was on fire.

“I don’t know if I can stop this, “ I yelled

I started glowing orange, fiery orange.

“You once told me not to panic. I did. It’s your turn, Please don’t panic. You’re going to be fine. One of us makes it through this, and I’m convinced it has to be you.” the future me writing this said everywhere and nowhere at once.

“HOWWWWW?,” I yelled, “There’s just so much….”

“Close your eyes. It will almost feel like nothing has changed at all. Be an optimist about this. We were caught up and lost in all of our vices. As the dust settled around us, “ the future me said.

The fire and orange dwindled down as I laughed “Bastille. You’re citing Bastille lyrics to me. Pompeii.  I’m about to explode and you’re citing Pompeii lyrics to me”

“Where do you think those lyrics and the event came from? Us.,” future me said.

“I’m going mad. Stark raving mad. Do you all hear this?,” I said as I stood up on wobbly legs.

“I do, plain as day,” Jeff said.

“Ron?,” I said.

“Plain as day. He’s right. We have found plenty of evidence to suggest that not only are we repeating select days in history, we’re also repeating the entire creation of this universe,” Ron said.

“So I’m not mad?,” I said.

“Not from where we stand,” Gina said, “Will you please sit down now?”

“Butterfly effect, right?” Spencer said.

“I’m getting memories of the other lives I’ve lived. Too many to count,” I said.

“So why June 28, 2288,” Spencer said, “I can’t find any records that refer to the significance of that date.”

“Does it have anything to do with Stephen?,” Roz said, “That was my guess.”

“Close. Boston. How many times have we repeated this day?,” I said.

“Well that’s tough to say. We repeated the AM hours of that day 1188 times until just before you woke up, and for the first time we proceeded into PM hours. 8 hours and 47 minutes past noon to be precise. But something …. odd happened… ,” Kevin said.

I sat down on the gurney.

My head was still pounding as I closed my eyes. I just wanted to think. With my own mind.

But I didn’t feel like I was on fire anymore.

“Odd?,” I said.

Spencer looked at Ron.

“The consoles, the screens, all flipped upside down,” Ron said.

The medical bay I was in had three primary consoles, one for the primary doctor and two for support staff. It could retrofit more if necessary, but the consoles and the medical bay typically only found usage for research and rarely for actually reactive medical staff.

I pushed off the gurney, as Gina helped me up, and I walked over to the console.

As I looked at the screen, I looked at Ron.

“Well sure, it’s upside down, but where’s the color?,” I asked.

“What do you mean?” Ron said.

I tapped the side of the massive monitor. “This isn’t a computer, this is a dinosaur, and not only that, it’s monochrome, what did you all do with the thin LCDs?,” I asked.

I should have been concerned.

But I wasn’t.

“Doctor, do you remember our name now,” Future me said – intentionally over the intercom.

Everyone – and I do mean everyone in the room jumped.

“What the hell was that?,” Pam said.

“The same voice I’ve been talking to,” I said.

I saw a few faces become flush red with embarrassment.

“You mean, you all didn’t hear the voice I was talking to?,” I said.

“Hello all. I am future him. No, I am not artificial intelligence, not anymore or less so than any of you, my name is Q,” I said over the vessels’ intercom system

Spencer was the first to say something as everyone else stood there with their mouths open.

“You’re fucking real?,” he said.

“Thanks, buddy, for always being there for me,” future me said, “That was sarcasm to be sure you don’t misinterpret anything”

Spencer’s head was shaking back and forth. Looking at the intercom, and then me.

“To me there, don’t say it out loud, but do you remember our name?,” future me said.

“I do,” I said.

“Mitosis, are you familiar with it,” future me said.

“I am,” I said.

“Are you sick and tired of blowing up?,” future me said.

“I am,” I said.

“Then are you onboard with this plan?,” future me said.

I smiled. “I am, are you?”

“I am,” I said.

The mischievous smile could be felt on both sides.

I jolted up from the table.

“Master,” I said, “Shall we?”

“We shall,” future me said.

Everyone in the room was clearly confused as I walked out of the room.

“Everyone get in your seats. We’ve got someone to pick up,” I said.

Spencer was protesting the entire time, as I walked to the center console….

“But, it’s not responding….,” he trailed off as I started hitting buttons that no one had ever hit.

“Since when did you become an expert …. ,” Jeff said, followed by an….

“Ummmppp,” as everyone was instantly teleported to their seats.

“It’s time you saw what we’re really capable of now that we’re on the same page,” I said, and with that I pushed a button and the entire console transformed into a high tech piece of machinery unlike anything anyone’s ever seen.

“We have a multiverse to tour, and a company to build around those tours,” I said.

A high tech seat emerged from the ground near the console, which looked like a Captain’s chair.

“Ya all ready?,” I said as I sat back in the chair.

I didn’t wait for anyone.

“Engage!,” I yelled. ‘

And with that, the TARDIS blipped completely out of existence.

 


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.