Q

Home » Borg » Revising The Ten Commandments

Revising The Ten Commandments

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Being God’s taking a little bit more work than I anticipated.

And I need change.

There’s a few things which worked for me in the previously issued commandments, and a few things that didn’t.

With that said, let’s take a look at the current top 10.

  1. Thou shalt have no other gods before me
  2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image
  3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain
  4. Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy
  5. Honour thy father and thy mother
  6. Thou shalt not kill
  7. Thou shalt not commit adultery
  8. Thou shalt not steal
  9. Thou shalt not bear false witness
  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s thy neighbor’s wife or assets

Times have changed, dramatically in the last 2000 years, and with that change comes a change in rules.

With this change comes a notice: There will be other changes after this.

First, I’ll get to the modifications, deletions or reassertions of these rules.

  1. Thou Shalt have no other gods before me.

    The first rule is gone.

    You can worship whatever the hell you feel like.

    Whether that’s a door knob my penis or vagina depending on my gender that day, a little green paper rectangle with numbers printed on it, or a man with horns. quite frankly I do not care.

    Saying I don’t care would be a little bit of a stretch. I do care, but I care more about you choosing your own path and forming your own belief systems which contributes to the variety I get to enjoy.

    Now if you have lost your way, as always I will be there to help, but as I have learned, sometimes I just gotta relax if it appears like you’re being destructive and simply not react and let you do what you do.

    This HAD been a protectionist measure for you. But you’ve proven you don’t need this any longer. So feel free to make your own deities, and worship according to your heart’s desires.
    I’m not bowing out of the picture, I’m merely stepping back to watch the show.

    Commandment 1 = DELETED.

  2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image

    Now this one’s kind of funny in an ironic way. I had intended this commandment to mean exactly as it was written. I don’t like graves, I don’t like death and memorials for death, and I do not like tombs, mausoleums, and all that other jazz.

    Just a personal preference.

    Yet you beautiful things misinterpreted this so wildly to mean totems, idols, and the like, and then created undead entertainment which I actually found myself thoroughly enjoying. Especially Return of the Living Dead where an actress pretends to be undead and is naked the entire movie. Another movie you created called Creepshow made the undead funny storytellers. Interview with a Vampire and Trueblood made vampires – sexy, erotic, and mystical. And now, because of your faulty interpretation of this commandment, I actually enjoy playing undead creatures in the game Worlds Of Warcraft.

    Now if only I could run around naked in these games without extensive patches and shoddy artwork!

    You actually made undead fun, sexy, and to some degree – spun it in a way that thawed the icy morbidity.

    Thank you for that.

    As for your interpretation. I dated a Hindu woman who has an altar and her idols. Loved her. Around my world, there’s varying religious sects each with their own rich history and ritual which includes objects they include in their unique rituals.

    Logically, this commandment just doesn’t make sense to continue having. Whether it’s interpreted as intended or as you have.

    Commandment 2 = DELETED.

  3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain

    There’s a song that plays here which features the lyrics “and the god damn” something something over and over again.I’m not a fan.
    Whether I am your deity of choice or not, if you ever take anyone’s name in vain, there should be a reason behind it. Not just because it’s a great curse word or because it’s trendy. To me, it’s just disrespectful.

    Think about it this way: It’s like saying “fuck you” to your grandparents. either there’s something seriously wrong with you, them, both, or something went horribly awry to provoke that response.

    I’m keeping this one. Whether I’m your deity or not, whether you believe you are your own God or not, I do believe we should so some respect to our ‘higher level’ selves, unless we have really compelling evidence our higher level selves is being an absolute jerk.

    Commandment 3 = RETAINED

  4. Remember the sabbath day, keep it holy

    One thing I have learned throughout time is that sometimes even I need mnemonics. Something to remind me of an event that’s meaningful.Americans have done just this with Christmas, the day I was delivered to this world by making Christmas a consumer holiday. While many do not believe in the Christian faith or the things I say and do, they paid respects to me through the remembrance of Christmas day which eventually compelled me to question this thing called respect for choices made that do not align with my own.

    Now as you all know, I’m no angel, and this biblical and holy crap is for the birds. I’ll make choices which will firmly label me as the devil to some and others will hold me higher in esteem because I’m exercising choice and doing so outside of the influence of childish rebellion.

    Accordingly, if you want to maintain Christmas as a holy day, that’s your choice and prerogative. If you want to simply enjoy it because of the festivities, the lights and sounds and atmosphere it creates, so be it.

    No matter, I appreciate the fact that you humans have chosen to remember it on your terms, and not my previous terms, and encourage the continuance of this as I revise this commandment accordingly.

    Commandment 4 = REVISED

  5. Honor thy father and thy mother

    This one’s simple.

    My mortal parents have served as guides in ways that defy logic as they both challenged me to become something only I knew what that was to become and kept me in line as I pushed the boundaries of ethical and moral behavior they invariably knew I would find intolerable as I grew older.

    They put life and choice in contrast, presented themselves as flawed beings despite the contrary, and most of all provided a security blanket for more of my life than I care to admit.
    How can a God have parents?

    Don’t limit yourself.

    My story is that I am adopted on this planet. Whether they adopted me or me them is irrelevant. The fact is, they introduced me to a world I didn’t fully understand from a single linear perspective and how to not go insane living as an infinite being in this mortal shell.

    Having a mother and father is both crucial to your own psychological development and self esteem. but to also help you mitigate fear, danger, and the myriad of crazy emotions which can overwhelm and frighten an infinite mind trying to materialize in a finite form.

    You Honor them because they’re you and not at the same time. They teach you things you cannot teach yourself.

    Most importantly in this is self love.

    Commandment 5 = RETAINED

  6. Thou shalt not kill

    Since starting my mental transition to a more infinite mind, I have come to realize there are beings who do not experience death like I do and revel in this. But for me. Death is an end. So for me. This commandment HAS to remain intact.

    But… But… But.. I can hear it now.

    I’m doing those injustice who are capable of more.
    No, I am not.

    I’m saying – go develop your own religion and belief system, I will find ways to participate with you safely so as not to jeopardize existence as I know it for me.

    Commandment 6 = RETAINED

  7. Thou shalt not commit adultery

    Two things I have come to greatly appreciate in this mortal form have been sex and choice.With this, the current definition of marriage is limited and presumptive and a one size fits all equation.

    A few years ago, Rachel Gooch invited me to her home where I was beginning to get back in touch with my senses, and I could feel her husband in the backroom watching her and I get intimate with eachother in her and her husband’s backyard.

    I also came to understand something else.

    The woman’s much older than she looks, my guess is 200+ years old.

    And while he’d lost sexual interest in her, he still loved her and encouraged her to enjoy herself physically with other men she was attracted to such as myself. he recognized her insecurity in the situations and encouraged her behavior by watching.

    My lesson learned was – there are things and people and relationships that defy normal rational timelines which tend to redefine relationships over time.

    In fictional references, Star Trek has a race of aliens called Tallaxians which marry multiple partners who themselves may have multiple partners. I had at one time tried the same thing Rachel and her husband were trying in my marriage with Lisa, but it failed, I was – quite frankly – too intellectually immature to handle it.

    I now regard relationships much simpler – if you’re married, don’t try to overlay your rules on me. Should I find myself relationally or maritally involved, I will make it a fact to be considerate and understanding, and when I get bored sexually, I won’t go through the typical battle with trying to reinvigorate the relationship. If we were more than sexual partners before, then our relationship may shift to a complementary relationship. If not, then perhaps we just part ways.

    Adultery – the idea of cheating on one’s spouse just chaps my hide as a concept as I do not look at a partnership as being a master-slave relationship. I regard my partner(s) as equals, and while I am currently not gay and have never been with anything but women, perhaps there’s a day 200 years down the road where I may choose a male partner.

    My point to this all is this: What and how YOU define your relationships is entirely up to you. Similarly with mine. If you disagree with the way I treat my romantic relationships and you’re involved with me, then let’s chat. But if not, then let’s chat.

    But making a commandment feels like neanderthals pulling a partner by the hair saying ‘this is my property’

    I can’t reasonably let this commandment stand, as I insist on keeping out of your relationships unless you want me in them 😉

    Chris, Rachel, that last statement was directed at you.

    Commandment 7 = REMOVED

  8. Thou shalt not steal

    Ok. This one’s a tough one for me because I’m homeless. I’ve stolen superglue to repair my shoes. And considered stealing shoes when they had absolutely fallen apart.I’ve had more than you can imagine (literally) stolen from me.

    But this can’t be a commandment, it’s a moral code – an expectation of behavior I have of those around me but with that – a societal responsibility to reinforce and not a biblical or spiritual one.

    Now to be clear.

    I DO NOT LIKE STEALING.

    But sometimes. Even good people resort to theft in order to do what they feel they have to or need to to get by.

    So keep in mind for those of you who think just because I am removing this does not give you liberty to go steal willy nilly. I flat out don’t want you around me if that’s what you’re going to do, and if you structure society to force me to do this, I am decidedly NOT going to be happy with you for forcing me to do that.

    Commandment 8 = REMOVED

  9. Thou shalt not bear false witness

    On more than one occasion I have had friends ask me to vouch for them and lie to their significant and tell them they were with me.I’ve said no. Typically I am friends with the partner’s spouse. And I don’t want to be the one to lie to her.

    Even when cheating on my spouses or weaving my excuses while working for the government and telling friends what I was doing, I found the same principles important to abide by and made sure my deception wasn’t an outright lie.
    I said I was sorry to Lisa (my 2nd ex) for cheating on her. But when she pushed it, I told her I didn’t regret my actions. I was being truthful – not just for me and my heart’s sake – but because there was something I wanted and needed to learn from that lesson.

    Similarly, I never told anyone about my cocaine habit. And while I do have allergies which were horribly incited by sniffing something in my nasal cavities, I never outright lied to anyone about this habit. I came up with creative excuses, which were true in and of themselves, but if using ‘probability’ to assess the most accurate truth, they were absolutely not the highest probability truth to respond with.

    This didn’t make anything I said a lie. I merely weighed my own needs against others and determined the best outcome would be by weighing response #2 or #3 higher than the highest probability answer.

    I know, I know, this all sounds so robotic and elusive.

    It’s not. Truth is subjective. The truth between two people is different than that of three people than that of a group than that of a city, a country, a culture, or world. The truth is NOT black and white, true or false, yes and no. It’s often fuzzy, and more often than not, highly subject to interpretation.

    If you do understand this.

    You won’t have a problem with retaining this commandment.

    HOWEVER if you do not understand this.

    You are the reason it absolutely needs to be retained.

    Commandment 9 = RETAINED

  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s thy neighbor’s wife or assets

    This commandment has resulted in just the opposite effect of intended. The desire, when I originally created this, was to diminish the desire to have someone else’s ‘stuff’ and thievery that was occurring and to provoke your use of imagination to acquire said goods and persons.The unintended result has been a rampant creation of goods and choices, which isn’t a bad thing and I suspect will maintain trajectory, but also the objectification of women to the point of their becoming idolized.

    Choice in material goods and things have increased at the cost of absence of choice in companionship.

    We can thank Chinese Yin and Yang for that.

    No matter. I, we – tend to enjoy the materialistic choices consumerism brings, and with or without this I suspect it will continue.

    But I. We. Need more and better choices in companionship.

    This isn’t going to come through protectionism. If there’s green women from Mars to be had, or aliens with pointy ears or crinkled noses who are looking for male partners, the fact of the matter is, telling anyone, myself included – not to want and desire something like that which another possesses isn’t conducive to anything, really.

    I’m removing this commandment, with the hopes that it’s understood that there’s a strong desire by not just myself to have companionship.

    And with so many people ‘looking the same’ – it’s hard not to want based on physical appearance.

    And until real aliens are introduced to this population, it makes absolutely no sense to dream of having an android partner who looks just like your favorite lover of all time. Especially if you could change her appearance when you got bored.

    Now to be clear. I don’t like jealousy. But it does help inspire creativity to come up with alternate ways to get that which you covet.

    Commandment 10 = REMOVED

Tomorrow, I’ll update the list with new commandments.

You know, to stir the pot a little.

Here’s the final list of what’s left:

  1. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain
  2. Remember the sabbath day
  3. Honour thy father and thy mother
  4. Thou shalt not kill
  5. Thou shalt not bear false witness

Only five left, for now, more to come as I ponder this further…

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.