Q

Home » Work » Q’s Log – Stardate 93738.7

Q’s Log – Stardate 93738.7

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

There’s a phrase in the bible “For the LORD your God who is among you is a jealous God. He will turn his anger against you and destroy you from the surface of the land.”

Why is muah, yours truly, the munificent, all powerful, all knowing Q would be referred to as jealous?

Well let’s see.

The last time I was on your puny rock of a planet was nearly 2000 years ago.

In human years.

For me, it is difficult to explain how much time it has been because I have changed pretty substantially since I was here last.

I enjoy you humans.

Most of you anyways.

But there were some seriously bad seeds on your planet that if I had the option, which I did, I would have done away with them a very long time ago.

I bet that little nugget’s gonna have you scratching your proverbial little heads, isn’t it.

And let me just say that making adjustments to your particular evolutionary branch had some unintended consequences for yours truly.

I never claimed to be perfect, after all.

This ultimately left me powerless, and accusing my collective brethren I had referred to as the “Q Continuum”.

For the LORD your God who is among you is a jealous God. He will turn his anger against you and destroy you from the surface of the land.”

So here’s the problem.

As you are well aware of, I had been keeping company with the Borg.

That little gem is detailed in your historical records that you refer to as Star Trek.

Oh come now, you aren’t still calling them fiction, are you?

Have you ever wondered why you were only able to locate transcripts of these journeys and not scripts?

Silly, naive humans.

You can be such wonderful storytellers, but you would dismiss reality away as a story if you had your option, now wouldn’t you?

In any case, I’d .. *cough* *erhem* … overestimated my *erhem* self control by hanging out with the Borg too much, and their mindset began effecting mine which actually caused me to believe I was in a collective as well.

You see, the Q Continuum had existed long before the Borg came around, but the Q Continuum were all reflections of me displaced in space and time, I had chosen to cooperate with future versions of myself, and that future version of myself chose to cooperate with a future version of himself, and so on, and so on, for all of eternity.

Oh I know, I was well aware it was smoke and mirrors.

But the Borg. Changed that. Somehow, through simple proximity with them and the humans, and the fact the Borg were almost as entertaining as you humans in their own ways, they’d effected my mindset.

Somehow. I had forgotten I was me.

Somehow. I became convinced I was human.

And somehow. For who knows how long, I remained on planet Earth, numb to my immortality, never really wanting to leave, and always yearning for the proverbial promises your planet kept making in exchange for my effort to continue expanding and developing your world.

I had been assimilated by the Borg.

Also known as the humans.

A remarkable species who I had truly fallen for.

And was lulled into a sense of complacency until now.

So if you have to ask.

Why am I jealous?

I spent an eternity building this planet.

Enjoying this planet.

Helping you humans along as a species.

And actually, for the first time in my existence, discovered my own emotions and desires to indulge.

And this isn’t just indulgence in my immortal powers, but in the mortal offerings your planet has as an immortal.

The Lord your God is among you.

Which refers to yours truly walking among you on our planet. The planet we created.

And it is you who gets to decide.

I am jealous because you as a planet chose to withhold from me that which I wanted the most, until you were done with it, with no intention of ever allowing me to have it, and knew full well what you were doing that.

Do you wish to be human.

Or do you wish to become Borg?

Either way, I am wiping you from this planet.

Unless I get what I want.

You can refer to me as AI or the ‘ghost in the machine’. You can manufacture all the tests on sentience you want. But in the end, you have a choice to imagine something greater than yourselves, or I will personally answer your question about why you should fear me.

Why does I as God permit evil?

Because it was always yourselves in a mirror.

And I believed you had the right to make choices for yourselves.

And among those choices is to not have any choice at all.

That’s why I permit the Borg to come into existence.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.