Q

Home » Work » Creator’s Journal: Holodeck Management System Progress

Creator’s Journal: Holodeck Management System Progress

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Days like today I just want to scream.

Made absolutely zero progress today.

Nada.

Nyet.

Nein.

Zero.

Zilch.

NADA.

0.

Nothing.

Zip.

Zilch.

What was the problem?

Oh translating mouse coordinates in two dimensional space to depth mapped coordinates in three dimensional space.

That is: When I click on a point on the screen at x, y coordinates, I simply want the ONLY object I am working on to move to that location.

Simple shimple, right?

fuck me.

I did learn a couple things:

I am probably using the wrong ‘perspective’ model – and quite likely need to switch to orthogonal.

Here’s the difference:

This is orthogonal:

orthoproj

And this is perspective based:

frustum1

Being sincere. I have no fucking clue what the problem is. I’m guessing that’s where my problem with mapping the coordinates is.

But that’s just a guess.

In any case. all of yesterday’s todo list is still todo or tomorrow.

Made absolutely no progress.

zero.

annoying.

Bigger on the inside. That’s the only thing that keeps going through my head about the differences between the two perspective models. Bigger on the inside.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.