Q

Home » Work » Is it paranoia when I know they’re following me?

Is it paranoia when I know they’re following me?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

About three years ago, I began to observe something that had been happening to me all along – and that is – no matter where I went – it seemed like a new TV Show or movie would spring up based on the region and location I was in.

I moved to Portland for a brief bit, and a bunch tv shows sprung up in the region “Portlandia”, “Continuum“, “Grimm”.

I was originally born and raised in the Los Angeles area of California and spent a great deal of time in Phoenix Arizona.

Which just happens to be the location where the greatest majority of movies and tv shows have been made.

I’d always written it off, but a couple years back, I had begun noticing this ‘phenomena’ was paired with a local phenomena too – that is – ANYWHERE I went the environment would invariably undergo construction and renovation.

About 6 years ago, I even joked about the observation as I showed up to work late. Everyone knew I had just moved to a new place as I arrived late at a pretty important company meeting.

My Director even made an excuse for my tardiness – and said Brian ran a little late because he just moved”. But the place I had moved from wasn’t much further down the road in Scottsdale, Arizona, so I rejected that excuse. The real reason was simple

Two days after moving, construction on the road in front of my apartment complex started.

So I quipped:

“I swear construction crews follow me around. It must be a cosmic rule that no matter where I go, construction begins.”

So about three years ago, I added an addendum to my previous rule:

“I swear construction AND FILM crews follow me around wherever I go. It IS  a cosmic rule that no matter where I go, construction and filming begins.”

When I went to Beijing several years ago, Will Smith goes there not long after and films a remake of Karate Kid with his son.

When I went to Hong Kong, Batman and a few other movies appeared there.

So when I came back to Phoenix about three years ago just prior to moving to Portland. And I saw Doctor Who – my favorite BBC show about a delightful Time Traveling man from London had spent a great deal of time filming in Arizona.

I just shook my head.

So last year, when I came to North Hollywood, and no sooner do I arrive than i saw the metro overpass begins construction, and i saw numerous buildings along Lankershim road start to undergo construction….

I chuckled again.

I’m in Brownsville, Texas right now. And will be leaving in the next week, as Ruben Torres Blvd  in front of this place just started with it’s construction road crew, on a Sunday no less.

Staying in places long enough to see this same thing happen.

Again and again and again.

As I walked up to Starbuck’s with my roller suitcase, I laughed out loud when I saw the construction crew.

Maniacally, I might add, for the effect.

I walked into Starbuck’s – and asked Eric, a barrista who works there, where they were hiding the film crew.

I don’t think he got the joke.

That or he is a paid actor on the set of my show, and I am in my own version of the “Truman Show”.

And as I walked out of Starbuck’s, I looked at the sky and said:

“You have a great sense of humor. I do so hope I get to meet you one of these days, even though I think you’re an asshole at times, because I look forward to collaborating our humor instead of the joke always being on me.”

I’m in Texas. God country. One of the few places I can go and talk to the sky and actually fit in.  Besides Mexico of course.

Why should I question their faith and tell them I believe I am talking to an alien being who may be from an alternate reality?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.