Q

Home » Work » Theory: Where my attention goes, energy grows

Theory: Where my attention goes, energy grows

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

I’ve blocked all the news sites, because let’s face it – they are crap.

I’ve also given Google and Microsoft both far too much attention and they’ve been uncaring and undeserving of that attention, repeatedly being demeaning jerks to me.

Yahoo’s narrow minded, and I do respect this – I am helping them as I feel they are a reflection of the Chinese collective mind.

Accordingly, I am changing my search engine to Excite.

my.excite.com

The theory’s simple: Excite’s been around for ages.

And my attention to it is going to cause it to go through a sudden renovation of it’s interface (which hasn’t been changed since the last time I looked at it 10 years ago), and a sudden renovation of their search engine.

I always did like Excite anyways. I lost interest in it because of efficiency’s sake. but they do offer an interesting alternative when you don’t rely on a one size fits all equation for searches!

I have blocked all of excite’s ad publishing locally – which relied on google. I have blocked EVERYTHING google I might add with the exception of gmail. I do so hope that excite can do what they do without the use of those annoying ads!

My secondary source is Bing.

I admire Microsoft for what they’ve done graphically with it.

I am hoping they might be willing to somehow wow me.

What that means. I have no clue yet.

But the snappy graphics combined with the interesting places and information about the places is really quite cool.

So I give them kudos for that!

– Q

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.