Q

Home » Work » Are video games windows into alternate realities? A real life science experiment….

Are video games windows into alternate realities? A real life science experiment….

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

THE QUESTION (Observation):

“Are video games actually life in alternate realities?”

HYPOTHESIS

I believe the more I play a video game past its designated ‘end point’ or consistently different than the rules of the video game dictate – I will observe direct evidence of expansionism and/or creativity beyond what’s been designed and publicly documented WITHIN the game.

PREDICTION

If I continuously play the SINGLE PLAYER game Civilization 3 past the ‘drop dead’ end year of 2050, basing my presupposition posited in the prior BLOG entry (read: Game Theory), then I will find incontrovertible evidence of expansionism and/or creativity beyond what’s been designed and publicly documented WITHIN the game.

EXPERIMENT

Starting a SINGLE PLAYER scenario WITHOUT other (competing) Civilizations, I will play past the year 2050 to the point of having constructed all possibilities within the game.,

THEN I will continue playing. And using Star Trek’s Stardate as a potential reference of an Earth year,the current ‘Stardate’ for Star Trek Online being 96000, I will play the game Civilization 3 to the same year – 96000.

Evidence to suggest this is actual life will consist of ANYTHING – particularly ANYTHING creative and SUBSTANTIAL WHICH IS NOT PREVIOUSLY DOCUMENTED both online AND with the player documentation which comes with the game.

CONCLUSION:

ACCEPTANCE CRITERIA: A THIRD PARTY would NOT be able to deny my observations and would be able to reference documentation and find no evidence in the public documentation which would deny my claim.

REJECTION CRITERIA: A THIRD PARTY WOULD be able to find reference documentation substantiating my claim.

UPDATE:

(today)

Year 2650: I’ve already been testing this hypothesis out. I nuked an entire continent and single city in the middle of that continent, and had ONE worker clean it all up. I renamed all the cities on my primary continent to be Chinese based cities (Beijing, Shanghai, etc). With a few other Asian cities like Singapore and Bangalore to mix it up.

No evidence of my assertion yet.

But it’s a long ways to go to get to that point of ‘experiment over.’

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.