Q

Home » Work » Wreck-It-Ralph

Wreck-It-Ralph

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 44 other followers

One of my favorite recent movies is ‘Wreck it Ralph’

The movie tells the tale of a Video Game character – named ‘Wreck It Ralph’.

The movie is based on ‘Ralph’, who plays a bad guy in a video game named ‘Fix-It-Felix”, Ralph’s ‘job’ if you will is to play the bad guy in the video game and try to destroy a building that the protagonist – Felix – who plays the ‘good guy’ – who’s actually led by the arcade game player to repair a building that Ralph destroys.

Incidentally, the building automatically repairs itself at the end of the game.

Now there’s one scene where Ralph is in ‘Bad-Anon’ – and he is meeting with other characters who do not like being who they are. There’s Satan, who prefers to be called “Sa-teen”, there’s Bowser, from Mario land, there’s Beholder from Baldur’s Gate (an amazing computer game), there’s even Cyborg from Mortal Kombat 3.

The Bad Guy Affirmation:

I’m bad, and that’s good. I will never be good, and that’s not bad. There’s no one I’d rather be, than me.

Here’s an image from the ‘Bad- Anon’ scene:

BadAnonDC[1]

Playstation 3 has a commercial called ‘Long Live the Player” – in this commercial many of the heroes and even some of the villains – some groups, some individuals – from the PlayStation 3 platform’s video games are giving their toast to the player for helping them through their trying times..

It was heartfelt. It was meaningful.

But most of all. It seemed real.

It seemed like the movie Tron distinguishing users from programs on ‘the grid’.

Then there’s a moment in the movie the Matrix where Mr Smith, the primary antagonist of the movie says this:

“I hate this place.  This zoo. This prison.  This reality, whatever you want to call it, I can’t stand it any longer.  It’s the smell, if there is such a thing.  I feel saturated by it.  I can taste your stink and every time I do, I fear that I’ve somehow been infected by it.”

Multiple universes have been hypothesized in cosmology, physics, astronomy, religion, philosophy, transpersonal psychology and fiction, particularly in science fiction and fantasy. In these contexts, parallel universes are also called “alternative universes”, “quantum universes”, “interpenetrating dimensions”, “parallel dimensions”, “parallel worlds”, “alternative realities”, “alternative timelines”, and “dimensional planes,” among others. The term ‘multiverse’ was coined in 1895 by the American philosopher and psychologist William James in a different context

I couldn’t help but ask myself, later, after seeing Wreck It Ralph…

Are these characters actually real?

Are they really hating their ‘role’ that much?

That made me think of the movie Terminator. In the first Terminator, Arnold Schwarzenegger plays a villain. In the second, he’s been retasked to play the protagonist’s defender. In the third movie, he’s the full fledged protagonist – and in every situation – there’s a war that’s been simply delayed.

Now a multiverse (or meta-universe) is the hypothetical set of infinite or finite possible universes (including the historical universe we consistently experience) that together comprise everything that exists: the entirety of space, time, matter, and energy as well as the physical laws and constants that describe them. The various universes within the multiverse are sometimes called parallel universes.

And I suspect our universe is undergoing an evolution – from a single linear existence to a multiverse,

And throughout our media, whether it’s fiction or fact, we’re seeing nothing but elaborate stories within stories within stories often contradicting eachother altogether outlining the confusion which is occurring as this universe makes its transition. Chaos theory is a generational transition to a blossoming new set of multiple universes.

In the television show Star Trek: Voyager, The Captain of the Starship – a woman by the name of Captain Janeway says this: “It is my opinion that the Borg are as close to pure evil as any race we’ve ever encountered.”

And in the same television series, In 2376, when Seven of Nine and Tuvok went on an away mission during recreational shore leave, B’Elanna Torres commented that, “The Borg wouldn’t know fun if they assimilated an amusement park”. (VOY: “Tsunkatse”)

Seven of Nine gave Captain Janeway a really curious look.

And I couldn’t help but think.. Was Janeway trying to say something?

In fact.

Are all these characters we consider robotic, or product of video games – trying to collectively say something?

Then last evening, I started to watch the old Superman movie, you know, the one with Christopher Reeve, and the opening sequence starts with Kal-El aka Clark Kent aka Superman being sent away from his home planet Krypton.

And on that 12 year voyage from Krypton to Earth, the ‘pod/space ship’ starts an education process for Kal El, discussing Einstein’s theories of relativity, and as it passes by a star system – it discusses how ever Galaxy has it’s own rules for time and space.

The Milky Way Galaxy’s rule, for instance, is E=MC^2.

The funny thing is, it was only the night before I had a dream about the Borg having assimilated Space Mountain at Disneyland – as the ride takes you through a wormhole tour in the dark of a real live Borg Cube.

And a pregnant lady rode the ride. Which had me wondering. What would a developing fetus experience should a mother who does not know she’s pregnant go on that ride?

I’d imagine Superman’s journey from Krypton to Earth might best explain the experience to a developing fetus.

But this all got me thinking.

I can physically play a video game depicting another world where I see time and space function by different rules that I or other programmers can define.

Within these worlds, I or any programmer can mold and shape the rules and languages and objects within that environment.

Which begs the question – why is the multiple universe theory considered a theory at all since I play with hard cold evidence of it’s existence on a daily basis that makes it clear this theory is in fact – fact.

Furthermore. Since this theory is accurate.

Then not only is anything I can imagine possible, but this theory proves that anything I can imagine is possible.

Which begs the question.

Are these alternate universe characters coming to life?

Are some thanking us for what we’ve done for them? Are others saying help us? Or are they saying – help yourself out?

It’s easy to write off fiction as fiction when fiction is deemed ‘not real’ by a rule that’s been programmed into our society.

And fiction is, to me, WAS a very good rule to have. It quite possibly kept the demons at bay.

I am not so sure any longer, because I think it’s imperative we as a society understand that rules and laws are malleable and may need reconsidered or rewritten, especially if the original ‘programmers’ went away.

Or evolved to us.

Everything in existence has rules and specific parts that guide it and function with it.

Whether it’s a human body and it’s operating temperature of 98.6 degrees. Or it’s light’s speed which is 186,000 miles per second. Or it’s an operating system like Windows which was written in computer languages such as Assembler, C, C++. Or it’s programs that run within Windows such as Microsoft Explorer that’s written in languages like C++ and .Net. Or it’s web sites that run within Microsoft Explorer that parse HTML and ‘act on’ that code to render the web pages. Or it’s a car that requires 10w40 oil and should not exceed 7000rpm. Or it’s an online MMORPG video game depicting another universe written in C++. Or it’s a computer which depicts all this which has a BIOS that dictates that startup code, and comes in a specific case created by a manufacturer somewhere else. OR it’s a corporation with a mission and vision for what it does and where it’s headed. Or it’s a government with a set of laws and guidelines OR beliefs and ideas that guide it’s actions.

Now I have seen some crazy things in the last 3 years.

Lack of sleep and an addiction to narcotics and alcohol.

Most of my friends have written me off because I’ve refused to ‘let go’ of what I saw.

For me – what I experienced was amazing – remarkable even.

Huge robots barely out of visual range, a nuclear holocaust desert land, being told someone who looked like me went into a shop in vegas and the hotel I checked into in California – not moments before me…

To me… I’d been a long time lover of all things science fiction, time travel, and fantasy.

And of multiple realities…

So shortly after seeing a blue box that reeked of urine in Mexicali that suddenly had three Mexicans surround me telling me to get lost, I saw what looked like the rings of Saturn from the ground and then walked through a shopping mall that looked like the shape of the beautiful vessel called the ‘Destiny’ in the television series “Stargate Universe”, and then what looked like a rocket trail leading to the sky after I walked through the mall….

Then not long after in public media – I saw photos from NASA of a similarly shaped vessel riding the tail of a comet in – and not long after that – I saw a video on the internet of the comet going through the sun…

This made me think – was that the same ship from Stargate Universe? Was the comet actually destroyed remains of the Destiny, and was the vessel following it ‘another version’ in a holographic ‘glitch’ that didn’t see the comet it was trailing?

Asteroid-collision

index

And as I looked back on my life. I think to myself – I have one of two ways I can look at my past experiences. Including my hallucinations.

One, I can question my own memories, my sanity, and the experiences, write them off as society would seem to prefer, quit questioning what it’s all about, and move on, pretending to not have experienced it at all.

Acting like it never happened..

But what’s the fun, for ME at least, of that?

Or two. I can accept what I saw, what I have experienced, and tell the world. I’m done with watching the show. You’ve made it perfectly clear this world is a stage. Now I want to be in the show myself.

So I want to take the ‘best of’ these ideas I’ve been entertained with. Mix them up in my own nude and sexual world. Take my own personality – slightly perverted, non violent – fun loving, and a bit wild – and then create something – others might want to indulge in with me? Or something others might want to watch on a special adults-only cable version of Doctor Who or Star Trek?

Spartacus is clearly my inspiration. We need the same thing for the future in my opinion.

And I’m the best man for the job!

There’s another thing too.

The villains. Have gotten shafted and need stories of their own.

But with a history of warfare this planet’s had. Why not change the villain story? Why not ‘spin’ these stories to make it so the villains are often misunderstood and crucified because of … minds which simply could not comprehend the message they were sending at the time they were sending it?

You see, In the story of the Terminator, Skynet is always the antagonist.  The Borg are always depicted as ruthless. Hitler always as the villain everyone hates. The Devil – well – Thanks to the TV Show “The Reaper” – he had an image makeover. Mr Smith AND the Matrix – are always depicted as being the oppressors of free will and choice. And the Daleks and Cybermen – why are they depicted as being mindless killers and oppressors? Zombies. Vampires. Robots. The list goes on. Underrepresented and usually the target of ‘the good guy’ who’s usualy carrying a weapon of some sort.

What if I was able to work with a crazy world of all the things that go bump in the night to MAKE them look good?

Mr Smith, a holographic entity and program in the Matrix, makes a comment in the movie “The Matrix”:

“Some believed we lacked the programming language to describe your perfect world.  But I believe that, as a species, human beings define their reality through suffering and misery.”

Wreck it Ralph was the hero of his movie.

Now has anyone stopped to ask – WHY do the Borg show no mercy and assimilate strictly only Biology and technology? What are their goals and WHY are they doing this?

Are they an automated ‘save game’ system when the universe evolves that no one questions the potential it has a very real mind that created it that’s stuck in it’s own nightmare?

The Terminators – acting like destiny is simply impossible to overcome. Like the Borg.

Does anyone question WHY these automated processes relentlessly march forward without … balance?

The Matrix. Just WHO is Mr Smith and why can he not understand the concept of multiple realities? Or can he, and is there something more he’s saying about humanity that we’re not comprehending?

And Hitler. A VERY real historical fiction we have in our past in our reality, and yet no one seems to ask – HOW and WHY did he manage to command individuals to commit such atrocious acts?

Unless We;re in a video game ourselves.

And then there’s the Daleks. No matter how many times the Doctor defeats them. They always come back.

And in one of the last episodes, the Daleks were all exploded in a starship – and the Doctor looked at the camera – I SWEAR he was looking directly at me as if to say “You did this, you bastard.”

I started studying fiction as historical documentation from an irrefutable multiverse oriented  perspective about 2 years ago, and it’s completely rewired the way I look at life. It’s so much more.. full of potential, magical and alive now.

To me, understanding fiction as real in alternate realities says is saying:

“I recognize reality is created through thought. Whether I want to call thought energy, illusion, hologram, or source code, I recognize that life had been created from thought alone. And I recognize that Mr Smith’s hatred of humanity could actually have shaped humanity itself to respond to him in kind in a yin/yang relationship he had with the world around him. In fact, he may have forgotten who he was – having gone through what he’s gone through so many times, and in effect his mind may have actually developed a system to recognize and assist lifeforms struggling to overcome their own mirrors

To me, when I saw the robots and objects I never imagined were real, and since then, life’s actually made sense for the first time in my life.

It’s like – I was insane. Running on a hamster wheel generating energy for others who were capable of living a life of abundance because I supplied them fuel for their imagination .

Of course, to me, I bought the story I was making money to chase the dream.

But that’s all I was doing. Was chasing it.

And then there’s the story of Einstein.

Who had the same suit for 7 days of the week so he could ‘save his mental resources’ for the things that mattered most.

I’m homeless, carry a suitcase with all my worldly belongings, have no money, and sleep in a tent.

Effectively doing the same thing Einstein did.

Conserving my energy for manifesting my  own dreams with my artificially limited imagination.

To me. There’s a VERY real system in place that protects reality.

And I’d like to fix it.

No I am not saying I am fix it Felix.

But maybe I might be the next generation of game characters when I am bored with this life. OPr have been labelled as demons, or the antagonists – who need a story teller – who need representation of their own.

I’d like to be that representation.

If they’ll have me

If not, then I’ll represent myself.

Fortunately, I’m not a patient man.

Just ask my mind 🙂

It’s all around you!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.